Number 1

Since I’ve now become a Yarn Club aficionado, I thought I’d share my latest yarn club find. Thanks to the internet and Ravelry, there are endless options to choose from when it comes to picking a yarn club. Some clubs focus on colour, others focus on the pattern; some clubs distribute a variety of yarn weights, while others will only use one, like lace or sock yarn clubs. So far, the most interesting club I’ve come across is the Art Walk Sock Club by Zen Yarn Garden. My art history background may make me a bit biased, but hear me out.

Every month the dyer chooses a work of art and then dyes yarn to capture the colours in the piece. It’s really quite amazing. Some of the yarns are spot on.

Jackson Pollock’s Number 1 was this month’s art work.

Which was interpreted into this yarn:

So far, it’s been turned into this:

I always find it a challenge to match variegated yarn to a pattern, but I this one does a good job of breaking up the colour, and while ensuring the pattern stands out.

Leave a Reply

