A little piece of heaven

Last month I received my first ever yarn club shipment, and as of last weekend, I finished my first yarn club project with an exclusive one-of-a-kind skein of yarn!

As per my previous post, I’ve been working on Jared Flood’s Guernsey Triangle using Tanis Fiber Arts Red Label yarn in a soft grey colourway: smoke. Because it’s Red Label it’s a blend of merino, cashmere, silk. Translation: this yarn is so incredibly soft. So soft that I didn’t want this project to end.

Textural Pattern
The pattern and the yarn are so perfectly paired. Because the yarn is just a single strand it really makes the textural pattern pop, but gives it a very soft look.

As I progressed through the pattern it was clear I wasn’t going to use up all the yarn so I made a few modifications. I added another 11 rows to the end of the pattern in the alternate textural band. I wanted to make sure I used as much of the yarn as possible, and I can safely say I was successful!

Leftover yarn
That tiny skein is all that was leftover from 385m: less than 1 gram of yarn.

I bound off after just one welted edge instead of two, as the pattern called for. For the bind off I used the suspended bind off method, which isn’t quite as tight as a traditional bind off.
Guernsey Triangle

The finished shawl was just so squishy and soft that I couldn’t even wait to block it before I showed it off.

I can see more of this pattern in my future!

Leave a Reply

