Yarn Club

Yarn clubs are awesome. Every month (or two depending on the club), a wonderful treat arrives on your doorstep, in this case, a skein of yarn from Tanis Fiber Arts dyed in a colourway unique to the club and an exclusive pattern.

My first shipment included four skeins: three from the previous months and the yarn and pattern for July. July’s offerings were by far my favorite. The yarn, a merino, cashmere, silk single ply yarn is so soft!

20120803-153924.jpg

The pattern is a Guernsey shawl pattern, appropriately named Guernsey Triangle, by Jared Flood. What a treat! I love Jared Flood patterns. I’ve knit several including Rock Island Shawl and the Beaumont Tam. This one doesn’t disappoint.

20120803-154204.jpg

This is my first project in the guernsey style, which means the pattern is created entirely out of alternating knit and purl stitches. As I go along it’s amazing to see what interesting patterns can emerge from two simple stitches.

Another thing I’ve noticed, it’s much faster than lace!

7 thoughts on “Yarn Club

  1. Have you posted any pictures of the yarn in your Ravelry stash? I can’t wait for my Indigodragonfly second shipment. Should be out by mid August.

  2. Pingback: A little piece of heaven « My DarlingKnits

  3. Pingback: Number 1 « My DarlingKnits

  4. Love the triangle version of this shawl – and the idea of a yarn club! I just cast on the wrap version, and too am enjoying the pattern and seeing all the variety coming out of two simple stitches.

Leave a Reply

