I’ve made a huge mistake

Aside from watching a bit too much Arrested Development, I’ve been plugging away on my Seaglass Shell tank top. I haven’t mentioned it here yet because I wanted to make sure I had something to show off before I did a post. Unfortunately, I’m almost done and still don’t really have anything to show off.
Let me explain.

I originally saw this pattern while flipping through Interweave Knits. It was love at first sight.

Photo from Interweave knits.

I loved the back lace panel; it brings a bit of edge to the otherwise plain top. I (strangely) was drawn to the plain stockinette; I wanted some simple knitting I could do while re-watching all those Arrested Development episodes. I rushed out to pick up the recommended yarn (it was 25% off at my LYS, that had to be a sign right!?).

Like a good knitter, I swatched: three times, which is a big deal because I’m particularly averse to swatching. But I wanted it to turn out just right.

At first things seemed to be going well.


The lace pattern looked good. The yarn was a treat to knit with.

However, there were warning signs that things might go awry.

  1. The swatch grew. A LOT. But once it was dried it happily went back to the suggested gauge. So I soldiered on, trusting that swatches never lie. (Now I know they’re more like guidelines).
  2. Choosing a size. Clearly misguided about my own measurements, I cast on for the size 38. After all, the pattern stated the model was shown wearing 35 with slight ease. I didn’t want a skin-tight tank top, so I went up a size. Even though I know that I’m not close to a 38.
  3. While knitting I kept thinking to myself “man this seems big”. But I was confident that it would all block out to the schematic and I’d have my tank top with ‘slight ease’
  4. Blocking was a disaster. I should not, I repeat, should NOT have done a full wet block given how much the swatch grew. A light spray block likely would have been fine. As a result, the body pieces were so much bigger than the dimensions I didn’t even pin them out. I laid them flat and pleaded with them to “go back to your original size”, which thankfully they did once dry.

Despite these warnings, I carried on. I pinned out the back lace panel.

I even seamed the edges, but by now my feeling of dread was not dissipating.

After I seamed the second side I couldn’t put the dread out of my mind. I had to try it on.

Not good.

I was swimming in it.

That ‘slight ease’ I had hoped to achieve was more like a size or two.

I slowly took it off and placed it gingerly on the table. I haven’t been able to pick it up since. It just hurts too much.

This is my first real encounter with a non-wearable knitting project; a disaster in size. What really gets me is that it could have been prevented: I should have seen it coming. I should have made the smaller size. The signs were there. Now I know.

Time will tell if I’ll rip it all back and redo it. Right now it’s not looking good.

6 thoughts on “I’ve made a huge mistake

  1. It looks beautiful still! If u can deal with giving away the yarn do u know someone who would fit in this and love it? Well either way it’s not wasted time. Knowledge was gained and that’s always a good thing :). Right?! Sorry it didn’t come out the way you wanted it to though 😦

    • Thanks for the encouragement. Several people have suggested I do the same: keep plugging away and gift it to someone who it might fit. Amen to knowledge gained. I’ve learned that getting some accurate measurements needs to be at the top of my to-do list.

  2. Lol. I vote for that too! There must be someone you know that could wear it. Easier to start fresh than rip it all out?
    We all make mistakes in our projects.. its just a matter of learning from them. One of the first quilts i made didn’t lay flat because I didn’t know how to properly measure borders (luckily my bro didn’t notice lol.). But now I know. And.. so do you. 🙂

  3. Pingback: I’ve done it. … « My DarlingKnits

Leave a Reply

