Falling behind already

In my last post I told you about the Summer Solstice Mystery Shawl KAL . I was  am really excited about it. The pattern was sent out in the wee hours of June 20th. I was so excited that after opening the new pattern, I had to do this before I went to work:

That’s 277 stitches quickly cast on.

I have to say I think it was the most efficient I’ve ever been when casting on.  Normally I cast on, get frustratingly close to the final number and then run out of yarn (the long-tail cast on is my normal method of choice).  Usually – after re-casting on with a better estimate of yardage necessary to finish the job – I’ll count, re-count and then count again until I’m fairly certain I have the right number of stitches on the needles.

Not this time. I was determined to get it done right the first time, so that when I came home from work my knitting would be right there waiting for me, all ready to go. I made generous estimates for how much yarn the tail should be; I counted deliberately and placed stitch markers every 50 stitches and voilà! 277 stitches cast on in 15 min or so. (The impressive part is I made it to work on time).

All day at work the lace-y pattern was in the back of my mind. My fingers itched to get at it. Nupps, no problem, I’ve got my method worked out.

Then something happened.

Something wonderful, indulgent and expensive.

I crossed the threshold into the Apple store. (It was sort of on my way home…).

I’ve been thinking about making this purchase for a while. However, I managed to talk myself out of it since it was originally released. (Being a student with a limited budget really “helped” talk me out of it).

Student no longer, I bit the expensive bullet and purchased an iPad.

Almost immediately my need to knit my shawl melted away.

I will get to it tomorrow. I’ve promised myself.

Leave a Reply

