‘Tis the Season

Christmas Season is here! One trip to the mall will confirm that beyond a doubt, so it’s time to start infusing the Holidays into my knitting. (Aside of course from a few gifties that I’ve been working on, but sshhh). Enter, the Advent Calendar Scarf!

When I think of advent calendars I immediately think of this:

It’s a fabric advent calendar that used to hang in our house every Christmas. Each day a stuffed bear makes his way around the house looking for Christmas. I loved it! Even now I’m a little sad when another Christmas goes by without it adorning the walls at family Christmas *hint *hint..

However, since that era of adventing has passed, it’s time for something new. My very crafty mom introduced my to the Advent Calendar Knit-a-long (KAL) on Ravelry. Starting on the first of December, a pattern will be released each day for 24 days. At the end you’ll have an extremely huge scarf with 24 different patterns throughout.

At first I wasn’t all that excited, but now I can’t wait for December so I can get started! I’ve picked out my materials and I’m all set to go!

Yarn: Malabrigo Yarn Lace, 940m
Colourway: Azalea
Beads: 6/0 Glass Seed Beads
Colour: Pearl and Translucent Pearl

I’ll post updates periodically to show off the patterns and my progress. Only three more days!

For those of you not on Ravelry, you can check out the pattern here.

2 thoughts on “‘Tis the Season

  1. Where did you get a picture of that???? And by the way, it was only last year I didn’t put it up. Judging by the reaction of ALL of you kids, I will not forget about it this year, promise.

    love the beads and I can’t wait to start my scarf too!

Leave a Reply

