Finally Traded

I’m so happy to say that the Ultimate Trade between a friend is finally complete and I couldn’t be happier. In a nutshell, I knit her a sweater in exchange for a lap quilt. I was more than thrilled when the final quilt turned out to be a little larger than a mere ‘lap quilt’.

When determining the projects, she picked out the sweater pattern and the yarn colour she wanted and has an idea of what to expect in the final project. I, on the other hand, left the choice all up to her. Having seen the results of her other quilting endeavours, I was such a fan of them that I felt leaving the choice up to her would leave me in good hands.

While she suggested this trade many months ago, we didn’t get down to serious business until the end of the summer. Anyone who’s knit a sweater/cardigan knows that it’s no small feat. It’s not one of those projects that is (at least not when I do it), whipped out in a week or two. I wasn’t worried though. I mean, she had a whole quilt to make! Well you know what they say about assuming… I certainly felt silly once I heard that after only a few days of us getting started she had the squares all cut out. Enter my panic. Crap! I hardly had the garter band of this sweater done.

Thankfully, the cutting out was the quick part of the process (or so I was told). Still, she was finished sewing the quilt together long before I had finished my end of the deal. I still had an ace in the hole though. Finishing a knitting cardigan is relatively easier than a quilt. I just had to sew a few pieces together. She had to send the whole thing away to get quilted! (Spoiler, the quilting is fabulous. If ever the woman who quilted it reads this. I LOVE what you did with it! The thread is wonderful. Once you see the pictures you’ll all see what I’m talking about.)

By time I had packaged up the cardigan and hastily (yes, I apologize for the state the parcel arrives in, I was NOT prepared at the post office!) sent it off, I had word that my parcel was already on the way!

Just a few days before her’s is due to arrive, I received this lovely surprise.
Parcel
(Notice it’s sitting on another fabulous quilt that was made just for me. Don’t worry, it’s not going to be ousted from its spot.)

Unfolding
As I unfold it the anticipation is building. So far so good! I love the blue fabric. Finally I can’t hold myself back any more and I unfurl it across the bed.

Revealed
The more I look at it the more I love it. The lighter blue panels really pop out against the darker blues and black. Black, I can’t say that I would have chosen black! It’s a good thing that I left it up to her.

Details
Here you can see our two favourite fabrics. Her’s: the blue polka-dotted one. Mine: the blue strip just above.

Thread
And possibly my favourite part: the variegated thread used to quilt the entire thing. It ranges through various blues just like the quilt itself. On the black squares it’s just stunning!

Front and Back
I think the swirled quilting really evokes a sense of flowing in the quilt. Perfectly combined with the colour choice!

Quilt

I couldn’t be happier with this trade. The quilt is absolutely beautiful. It also makes me think I should have jazzed up that cardigan just a bit…

I wonder how many other great things I could acquire if I worked off this barter system more often!

One thought on “Finally Traded

Leave a Reply

