Bundle Up

A few weeks back the weather started to change. There was a crispness in the air and a definite chill at night. Perhaps like most knitters, it prompted me to cast on for warmer things; things that will keep me bundled up. Predictably, mother nature is having a hard time deciding whether or not to embrace the fall and has been teasing us with a warm spell.

Despite the fact that its still rather warm I’ve turned out a fabulous pair of Newfoundland Mitts

I don’t have a photo of the finished pair but I assure you they’re both done. The pattern was incredibly simple and fun to knit. Not only that but they knit up very quick. I finished them both off in a matter of days.

While knitting these I tried out Kollage square needles. Surprisingly enough they do live up to their claim of being easier to hold. I liked them, but I’m not sure I’d be ready to abandon the traditional needle just yet. I found them to be a bit slower, especially when purling. Maybe that’s just me.

Not to be deterred by the unseasonably warm weather I cast on a hat too. I was so thrilled with the last pattern I knit by Jared Flood that I couldn’t resist trying another. And I’ve had my eye on the Beaumont Tam for a while.

Here’s a quick peek at my progress so far. Depending on how it goes the next post will either be a celebration of how a small miracle took place on my knitting needles, or a shameful admission that I really do know better and should have seen this coming.

Stay tuned!

2 thoughts on “Bundle Up

Leave a Reply

