Finished at Last! Rock Island Shawl

Done! I can’t say how pleased I am that I’ve finished my Rock Island Shawl. The pattern is by Jared Flood and it was a dream to knit. The pattern is written extremely well. It lays out the entire process from start to finish, including tips on how to block it. I wouldn’t hesitate to knit something else by this designer, (in fact I have my eye on this Beaumont Tam). So without further ado, here is my own version of the Rock Island Shawl.
complete

 

This is my first lace shawl and I couldn’t be more pleased. That is not to say that I didn’t have a few obstacles to overcome. I had to start this about 5 times because I just couldn’t get the pattern right. Thankfully the shawl starts with only a few cast on stitches and having to redo the first six or seven rows wasn’t a big deal. Once I got going on the lace edge it was pretty smooth sailing for the rest of the edge.

The construction of the shawl was intriguing and designed to get the tricky stuff out of the way first.
Edging
The lace border is knit separately. From there you pick up the edge and move onto a garter stitch band and then the rock island motif.
Rock Island motif

Once that is complete its straight garter stitch. While that may seem like an endless sea of boredom, the saving grace is that the rows get smaller as you go. There’s no better incentive to do a few more rows than that!

I got to try my hand at blocking with wires. After my experience blocking my Hemlock Blanket, this was a much better experience. I don’t think I used more than 10 blocking pins. The result was a much more even FO as well.

Blocking 

I’m amazed at what a good soak and stretch can do.
Lace pattern
The lace edging before blocking.
Edging
And after.

10 thoughts on “Finished at Last! Rock Island Shawl

  1. OMG OMG OMG! This is fabulous! You did an awesome job and must be in record time too. I’ve got to get a set of blocking wires to block all those shawls I’ve knit over the past six months. You’ve inspired me to start my Rock Island shawl. Thanks for all the great pics too!

    • Honestly I had a hard time putting it down once I started. You should definitely start yours, esp now that you have yarn for it and everything!

      I’ll keep my eye out on Ravelry for pics of your freshly blocked shawls 😉

    • Oh no! There have been quite a few Brooklyn Tweed books released since this shawl was published. I’m sorry you didn’t find this pattern, but hopefully there will be something else in there that catches your eye? I personally love so many of the BT stuff.

Leave a Reply

