The Ultimate Trade

Now that my summer is over and the weather has cooled down (marginally), I finally have some time to sit down with my knitting and make some real progress. The first order of business, not to finish up all the other projects I have on the go, but to start a new one! This is reasonable right? Actually I have good reason to be starting something new this time. As I was knitting my Aidez Cardigan a friend of mine suggested a trade: “One beautiful knit sweater, for one beautiful lap quilt.” How could I resist!

After several talks back and forth we found a pattern that pleased both of us. It’s simple, yet cozy. The pattern is Nimbus, from Berroco. (Funny that it’s by the same designers and calls for the same yarn as the Aidez Cardigan.) I wasn’t able to get the recommended yarn Berroco Peruvia Quick, but I knew I didn’t want to use the KnitPicks Wool of the Andes Bulky this time either. Instead I chose Loops and Threads, Cozy Wool in Granite. It’s a wooly/nylon blend that is super cozy and will hopefully avoid pilling and stand up to wear.

The progress so far.
102_0315

As of now the back piece is finished. I’ve added 6 inches of length to the body to take it from cropped to waist length.

Stay tuned for updates. This one should go pretty quick. (That is if I don’t get distracted by any other projects….)

5 thoughts on “The Ultimate Trade

  1. Pingback: Finally Traded « My DarlingKnits

Leave a Reply

