Have a Little Faith

With one mitten done I’ve found myself taking a few minutes to just sit back and reflect on just how cool it really is that I have created this colourful creation out of nothing but string. As a relatively new knitter I still usually encounter a new technique on every project. This one introduced me to stranded knitting, continental and the, I-cord cast on. Not to mention the ins and outs of  mitten construction in general. There were many points I had to stop and talk myself through the instructions. Especially at the thumb. But what amazed me was if I just did whatever it was the pattern was suggesting, even if it seemed strange, it always worked out.

After I finished the thumb gusset I probably spent a good ten minutes with a silly grin on my face, so pleased with the fact that I did indeed have the beginnings of a thumb, and not some strange mangled mess as I feared.

Fiddlehead

Inside
Even the inside turned out not half bad!

Just goes to show that having a little faith can yield some excellent results.

Leave a Reply

