Chances were slim…but not impossible

Ever the optimist, I gave my self a knitting challenge that I was quite certain I could not accomplish. On August 26 I cast on for a beautiful lace stole pattern, Love on the Edge. It gets it’s name from the beautiful hearts along the outer edges of the stole. When I first saw it I was smitten. The project is so delicate looking. I thought it would be the perfect accessory for an upcoming wedding that I’m attending.

Unfortunately I himmed and hawwed before actually purchasing the pattern and so, didn’t get a start until possibly too late.

The biggest challenge of the project lies in the fact that the pattern is a translation from Dutch. Never before has theĀ adageĀ “lost in translation” been so literal. The pattern doesn’t have the usual verbal flow of a knitted pattern, so I’ve spent a lot of time trying to figure out what the instructions mean.

I’m happy to report that I think I’ve got it mostly figured out, now speed is my only limiter. Sadly, lace knitting is not really known for it’s speedy quality.

Despite my doubts, I bound off my stole last night! Now for a good blocking and it’ll be already to be packed with the rest of my things this weekend!

Stay tuned for blocked photos!

4 thoughts on “Chances were slim…but not impossible

    • I suppose in retrospect it wasn’t terrible. It at times didn’t follow the style or jargon that I have come to expect from english patterns. It left much to be interpreted by the knitter. I’m happy to say I think it was worth it though : )

Leave a Reply

