KW Knitter’s Fair

It’s on.



Tomorrow is the Kitchener Waterloo Knitter’s Fair.

It’s the perfect chance to see many Canadian knitting vendors all in one spot. It’s my first time attending any sort of fibre festival and I’m so excited. And a little bit nervous. I know that I’m going to be overwhelmed with fibre-y goodness. To keep my emotions (and spending) in check I’ve tried to approach it practically.

Tips for a Successful Fibre Festival

  • Arrive early. Parking is a premium and hiking to the venue is not the best use of yarn shopping time
  • Do a complete tour before making any big purchases. You never know who’s got the best deals.
  • Bring cash. Preferably only as much as you want can afford to spend and leave the credit card at home. You’ll appreciate it later. Yarn fumes can have strange effects on your will power.
  • Bring water/snacks. I tend to get a bit crabby if I don’t have enough of either.
  • Make a list. Sure, you have all kinds of project ideas and must have yarns, but the moment you step across that threshold it’s likely your mind will go blank.

And so, my own list of items to keep an eye out for:

  • Hiya Hiya interchangeable needles: 3mm
  • Solid sock yarn in vibrant colours, not necessarily full skeins.
  • Signature needles (mostly to ogle, not to purchase).
  • Complimentary solid and¬†variegated¬†fingering yarn. 750 yds/840 yds (It’s not too late to start Malice).
  • MCN solid, maybe grey, for Marin
4 thoughts on “KW Knitter’s Fair

  1. I’ll be there too! They actually have quite a decent canteen/ lunch area, with hot food options. No doubt because the venue is a little on the isolated side. Glad that have a strategy!

    • Thanks for the tip! I was glad to have some hot food options. It meant we could browse longer : )

      Although I did stop by the Tanis booth (a few times), it was always so busy, so I didn’t have an opportunity to say hello. I did see a glimpse of your adorable baby girl though!

    • It was great! Overwhelming, but great. By the way, I love your blog! Knitting and horses, two of my favourite things! (Disclaimer, I don’t ride, but I so wish I did…I worked at a barn as a teenager. I just love being around horses).

Leave a Reply

